Skip to content ↓

Key Stage 4

Academic Programmes for Key Stage 4

Key Stage 4 is studied in years 10 and 11. All pupils select up to 4 options to study alongside their compulsory core subjects. In most subjects there is a certain amount of coursework and practical work which means that pupils are constantly building upon their chance of success, while continuous assessment enables teachers to build on each student’s individual strengths.

As each student is looked upon as an individual, the curriculum is not set in stone but is tailored to the needs and potential achievement of each student.

All students take the following core subjects at GCSE:

  • English Language
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Information Technology

To these are added 4 subjects from the following options:

  • Geography
  • History
  • Design Technology
  • Home Cooking Skills (BTEC)
  • Art
  • Graphics
  • Textiles
  • Photography
  • Horticulture (BTEC Level 2)
  • LAMDA Exams in Acting
  • Motor Mechanics (ABC Level 1)
  • Astronomy - selected pupils 

Students also study the following non-exam subjects:

  • Religious Education (RE)
  • Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE)
  • Physical Education (PE)