Skip to content ↓

An Independent Boarding School for boys in West Sussex

House System


Traditionally a feature of many British schools, House systems often indicate specific Boarding Houses. In Slindon College's case the House system refers to a grouping of pupils. 

Running through the heart of Slindon College is its vertically tiered House system. This system aims to facilitate associations and bonds between the different year groups. By fostering a sense of pride, encouraging team building, community spirit and peer mentoring, it promotes involvement in competitions, and develops social skills not just with fellow peers but with pupils of different ages. 

There are so many ways in which our pupils engage in the wider life of the College, through the rich and varied curricular and enrichment programmes, ranging from dramatic activities to charitable work. Our House system enables pupil participation to be recognised and rewarded. 

Our House System

Our pupils are divided between four Houses, each named after an English Peerage. The colour of the pupils tie correlates to the House they are in: Cowdray (Yellow), Norfolk (White), Richmond (Red) and Sussex (Blue). A Head of House and Prefect oversee the main activities for each House.



Head of House: Mrs Terri Draper

Prefect: Samuel G-G.

The Duke of Norfolk is the premier duke in the peerage of England, and also, as Earl of Arundel, the premier earl. The Duke of Norfolk is, moreover, the Earl Marshal and Hereditary Marshal of England. The seat of the Duke of Norfolk is Arundel Castle in Sussex, although the title refers to the county of Norfolk. The current duke is Edward Fitzalan-Howard, 18th Duke of Norfolk. All past and present dukes have been descended from Edward I (see Dukes of Norfolk family tree). The son of Thomas Howard, 3rd Duke of Norfolk, was Henry Howard, Earl of Surrey; the earl was descended from both Edward I and Edward III.


Head of House: Mr Chris Relf

Prefect: Daniel B.

Earl of Sussex is a title that has been created several times in the Peerages of EnglandGreat Britain, and the United Kingdom. The early Earls of Arundel (up to 1243) were often also called Earls of Sussex.


Head of House: Mrs Alison Seaby

Prefect: George T.

Duke of Richmond is a title in the Peerage of England that has been created four times in British history. It has been held by members of the royal Tudor and Stuart families. The current dukedom of Richmond was created in 1675 for Charles Lennox, the illegitimate son of King Charles II of England and a Breton noblewoman, Louise de Penancoët de Kérouaille; Charles Lennox was also made Duke of Lennox a month later. The Duke of Richmond and Lennox was furthermore created Duke of Gordon in the Peerage of the United Kingdom in 1876, meaning that the Duke holds three dukedoms— plus, in pretence, the French Duchy of Aubigny-sur-Nère— more than any other person in the realm.


Head of House: Miss Kimberley Thompson 

Prefect: Indiana F.

Viscount Cowdray, of Cowdray in the County of Sussex, is a title in the Peerage of the United Kingdom. It was created in 1917 for the industrialist Weetman Pearson, 1st Baron Cowdray, head of the Pearson conglomerate. He had already been created a Baronet, of Paddockhurst, in the Parish of Worth, in the County of Sussex, and of Airlie Gardens, in the Parish of St Mary AbbotsKensington, in the County of London, on 26 June 1894, and Baron Cowdray, of Midhurst in the County of Sussex, in 1910. His son, the second Viscount, sat as a Liberal Member of Parliament for Eye. His son, the third Viscount, after serving in World War II where he lost an arm, was Chairman of the family firm of Pearson Plc from 1954 to 1977. The titles are held by the latter's son, the fourth Viscount, who succeeded in 1995.

Head Boy and House Prefects

Supervising the House Prefects is the Head Boy. During the College's end of year celebrations the Headmaster announces the successful candidate to be Head Boy for the upcoming year, with the Heads of Houses selecting their prefects. The Head Boy and House Prefect are chosen to undertake various responsibilities for Slindon College and set a prime example for their peers. 


For the academic year 2023 / 2024 Lenny H. takes up the mantle of Head Boy. Prefects for this academic year are Samuel G-G. (Norfolk), Daniel B. (Sussex), George T. (Richmond) and Indiana F. (Cowdray).


Year Head Boy



Richmond Cowdray

Cormac W.

Finn B. Leo M. Oliver H. Theo S.

Tom C.

Keelan C. Ethan S. Harvey S-T.

Thomas I.

2022 Daniel A. Nathan H. Jesse C. Aaron T. Brandon S.
2023 Edward G. Toby R. Vyan B. Ben R.

Ben H.

2024 Lenny H. Samuel G-G. Daniel B. George T. Indiana F.

Find out more about the history of Slindon House